Inauguration of IESL Ampara, Batticaloa District Centres and South Eastern University Student Chapter

Sunday Times (Sri Lanka) · 6 Oct 2013

The IESL Ampara District Centre and the Student Chapter of the Faculty of Engineering at the South Eastern University of Sri Lanka Oluvil, were ceremonially opened at the premises of the university on 15th September 2013.



The President of IESL Eng. Tilak De Silva and Chairman, ICT Committee, Eng. Arjuna Manamperi graced the occasion as special guests. Dr. S.M Junaideen, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering represented the university at this event.

The Institution of Engineeers, Sri Lanka (IESL) has established District Centres in Kegalle, Polonnaruwa, Mannar, Batticaloa and Monaragala in recent months with the aim of making IESL accessible to its members at the district level. These centres operate under the respective IESL Provincial Centres.

Eng. Tilak De Silva speaking at the occasion commended Eng. A , L , M N i z a r, Chairman, IESL Eastern Provincial Centre (IESL EPC) and the Executive Committee of the IESL EPC for their successful efforts that led to the establishment of the district centre and the South Eastern University Students Chapter so soon after the establishing of the Faculty of Engineering. He said that IESL District Centres play an important role for the engineering community as engineers working or living on every district are able to meet regularly and these centres will make them connected closely with their fellow members

The IESL President thereafter endorsed the names of those who have been selected as office bearers of the new district centre at the IESL EPC meeting held on 17th Aug 2013. Accordingly the members were declared as elected for the following posts at the Ampara District Centre for the 2013 / 2014 session: 1. Co-Chairman: Eng.M.I.Ilham Jazeel 2. Co-Secretary: Eng.A.M.Aslam Saja 3. Co-Treasurer: Eng.J.Akeel 4. Member-01: Eng.A.M.M.Hakeem 5. Member-02: Eng.A.L.M.Safeek

Eng. A,L,M Nizar did a presentation on "Who is an Engineer" with a slide show depicting from basic engineering to state of the art, reconstruction of the Arugam Bay Bridge.

Dr. S.M Junaideen, founder Dean of the Faculty of Engineering of the university d e t a i l e d about the Faculty of Engineering of the university and requested the support of the IESL and its membership towards betterment of the faculty.

Eng. Arjuna Manamperi's speech on "Engineers as Leaders' was the highlight of the ceremony while Eng. P. Jathees of the Department of Irrigation, Ampara presented a technical paper on 'The Design of Kalugal Oya Reservoir'. Eng. Aslam Saja did the Vote of Thanks concluding the ceremony.

Following this event, the foundation stone laying for the proposed building for the IESL Eastern Provincial Centre (IESL EPC) was held at the auspicious time of 2.40 pm headed by the IESL President Eng. Tilak De Silva and the IESL EPC Chairman, Eng. Nizar, with Religious observances. IESL EPC members and Government officials participated in this event. The Divisional Secretary MN North, Mr. Giritharan who had extended his fullest cooperation towards allocating the land for this purpose also participated as a Special Guest,

This was followed by tree planting participated by the IESL president and officials, members and junior Engineers of the Eastern Region.. The meeting that followed was presided over by the Co- Chairman of IESL Batticaloa District Centre, Eng. D. A. Pragash and attended by several IESL members and Government officials. This was followed by the endorsement of the following committee members elected as office bearers for the 2013 / 2014 session of the new Batticaloa District Centre at the meeting of the IESL Eastern Provincial Centre held on 17th Aug 2013. 1. Co-Chairman: Eng.D.A.Pragash 2. C o -Secretary

Eng.M.Ramanasundaran 3. Co-Treasurer : Eng.G.Sujitharan 4. M e m b e r - 0 1 : Eng.

Mrs.J.Dharmaretnam 5. Member-02: Eng.A.S.M.Irshath

: